8 Limbs of Yoga

BLOSSOM 2: Eight Limbs of Yoga


In this blessed course, we explore the Eight Limbs of Yoga by Patanjali which is considered the “Father of Yoga”.  Eight Limbs of Yoga is also known as Ashtanga, which means "Eight Limbs" often visualized like a tree. These eight steps act as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. They serve as a way for moral and ethical conduct and self-discipline to help you understand your inner and outer worlds. The Eight Limbs direct attention toward one's health to help you to acknowledge the spiritual aspects of your nature with love and light. Yoga means union, to unite, and union with the supreme being. The Eight Limbs of Yoga is a classical philosophy that offers a deeper foundation for all yoga practice plus additional and different paths to achieve the unity of your union. The same foundation of Pranayama, Relaxation, Asanas, Lifestyle, and Meditation (PRALM) that we developed from the previous Blossom 1 will apply through this course at an increased ratio of Pranayama and Ashtanga poses. The Eight Limbs of Yoga is experienced through these eight stages:

  1. यम | Yamas | Outer Attitudes

  2. नियम | Niyamas | Inner Attitudes

  3. आसन | Asanas | Postures

  4. प्राणायाम | Pranayama | Breathing

  5. प्रत्याहार | Pratyahara | Withdrawal

  6. धारणा  | Dharana | Concentration

  7. ध्यान  | Dhyana | Meditation

  8. समाधि | Samadhi | Enlightenment


*Pre-requisite Blossom 1